Minis: Repainting

While I slowly work through unpainted miniatures, I realized I had a handful of miniatures that I was less than happy about. With my skills improved a bit, I decided to try again on a dracolisk, two bullettes, a wereboar, a werearmadillo, and a bull gorgon. 

Armadillo, boar, and dracolisk can be seen in this previous post, but unfortunately I never grabbed pictures of the others before the repaint. Oh well.

For the armadillo, a new coat of grey back scales with more color graduation plus a fleshier skin underneath looks much more lively than the previous all gray paint job. For the base, I turned it to a red sand with cracked earth and a cactus instead of the boring mud it was before.

The cactus is a few beads superglued together and the cracked earth is baked eggshells.

The boar got the least updating, mostly a repainting of the black to fix the failed clear coat (see the linked post). After that, I gave his mane and hair tufts more drybrushes with various shades of brown and gave his black coat some brown brindling. For the base, I wanted something to fit his dynamic posing, so I littered it with smashed wood. Perhaps he just broke through a tavern wall or a palisade? Either way, much better than simple mud made from wall filler (spackle).

My dracolisk had plain metal scales and blue wings on a simple stone textured base from spackle. I liked the wings but wanted something more unique. I saw this guy and decided I had found the color scheme for the body. Starting from blackened feet to brown scales to beige/flesh tones at the top gives this beast more a desert or haunting vibe compared to a mechanical one it previously had. To touch up the wings, I layered on additional blues then with a dry brush dabbed on a random pattern of light blue strokes. For the base, I lightened up the grays and added gray painted wood to give this destructive beast some ashen ruins to lord over.

The previous paint job of my mechanical bull had a problem as the dracolisk, too dull and uninteresting. To fix it, I decided to switch it to a corroded brass monster like I saw here. In contrast to the inspiration, however, I figured that his brightest spots would be in the recesses where metal plates rub off oxidation regularly. So I painted it heavily with a copper paint then built up layers of corrosion with lighter drybrushes. Another addition I made was to try some smoke effects using some fluff from a dog toy, painted with shades of green, and glued down. Note that this is my second attempt. I first used superglue but it reacted poorly with the material and created little droplets of plastic ruining the cloud-like effect. My second attempt attached it with simple white glue, PVA. The base and bull got a broken chain and skull for detailing. Whoever tried to chain this monster likely regrets the attempt.

For the last, I had two burrowing horrors I was quite unhappy with. I originally tried some metal and gray scales but was underwhelmed by the look. Additionally, I had some disastrous attempts at flocking the base with sphagnum moss that resulted in a fragile, lifeless looking mess. If I were to rebase this miniature again, I would try to create something a bit more dynamic but as it is the miniature itself is rather lifeless so I didn’t think it would be worth the effort (yes I know the original D&D monster is based on a knock-off dino toy with the same pose). Instead, I wanted a shocking paint job to breathe life into this toothy beast. After seeing this color scheme I knew I wanted something similar. Starting with a dark brown, I dry brushed successively lighter passes of greens and then white. To add some flavor to the two burrowing creatures, I gave one some rocky terrain it is shouldering through and the other a group of saplings it has carelessly crushed.

The holiest of callings, mini-painting. aasimar painting miniatures in a heavenly basement using the light from his halo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

Hiverlord's Hijinks

Traveller RPG content, for the most part.

Sandpaper Sunflowers

Eclectic Modern Farmhouse DIY and More

AnarchyDice

Tabletop gaming, terrain crafting, and other nerdy hobbies.

The Grinning Skull

As soon as your born, your dying. tick tock... Everybody afterwards.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close